Pages Navigation Menu
Yellow pips

Fredenburg named to prestigious AFCA Board of Trustees

Fredenburg named to prestigious AFCA Board of Trustees


Coach Pete Fredenburg was a well-established and well-respected football coach before he ever set foot on campus. But the job he has done building the Cru football program has certainly raised his profile across the country. In the latest show of respect for Fredenburg’s work, he was voted to the Board of Trustees for the American Football Coaches Association.

Fredenburg will help formulate policy and decide the direction of the AFCA in his new position. And it is a huge responsibility with a membership of more than 11,000 football coaches from across the country. And Fredenburg joins a distinguished group of coaches on the AFCA board, with representation from every level of college coaching.

Returning members of the AFCA Board of Trustees include incoming president Rob Ash of Montana State University; first vice-president Tim Murphy of Harvard University; second vice-president Tommy Tuberville of Texas Tech University and third vice-president Mike Welch of Ithaca College.

Also serving on the Board in 2011: Jim Tressel, Ohio State University; Mack Brown, University of Texas; Todd Berry, University of Louisiana-Monroe; Lee Owens, Ashland University; Jim Grobe, Wake Forest University; Bill Cronin, Georgetown College (Ky.); Frank Solich, Ohio University; Randy Edsall, University of Maryland; Turner Gill, University of Kansas; Mike Riley, Oregon State University; Gary Patterson, TCU; Pat Hill, Fresno State University; David Bailiff, Rice University; Mark Richt, University of Georgia and Bobby Kennedy, University of Colorado, ex officio member and chairman of the Assistant Coaches Committee. AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff serves as secretary-treasurer of the organization.

Fredenburg replaces 2010 AFCA President Larry Kehres of Mount Union, who completed his term on the Board this year. Kehres has won 13 NCAA Division III National Championships and has guided the Purple Raiders to five straight berths in the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, the NCAA Division III National Championship game. Ironically, the last time Mount Union failed to advance to the national title game was in 2004, when UMHB topped the Purple Raiders 38-35 in the national semifinals in Alliance, Ohio.

Fredenburg is the only head coach the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor has ever had, building the program from scratch in 1998. He has an overall record of 121-32 at UMHB while also guiding the Crusaders to eight American Southwest Conference titles and nine appearances in the NCAA Division III playoffs. Fredenburg has been named AFCA Regional Coach of the Year five times (2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2010).

It took Fredenburg just four years to guide the Cru to the NCAA Division III playoffs (2001), and just five years for him to lead UMHB to its first American Southwest Conference championship (2002). In only the seventh season of UMHB football, Fredenburg had the Cru in the 2004 NCAA Division III National Championship game.

Fredenburg began his coaching career in Texas at several high schools including Canyon High School, New Braunfels High School, and Giddings High School. He spent 13 years as a defensive coordinator and assistant head coach at Baylor University. Fredenburg then moved on to LSU as an assistant coach before spending three seasons as the defensive coordinator at Louisiana Tech University.

Fredenburg led UMHB to a 12-1 overall record, its eighth American Southwest Conference title and an appearance in the NCAA Division III quarterfinals in 2010. The Cru posted just the second 10-0 regular season in the program’s history this season and set a new school record with 12 consecutive victories. Under Fredenburg’s leadership, the Cru has advanced to at least the second round of the playoffs in seven straight seasons.

The AFCA was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 11,000 members around the world, ranging from the high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to maintain the highest possible standards in football and the coaching profession and provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football and coaching.

“I am extremely excited about the opportunity to serve and to work closely with Coach Teaff and the other members of the board. To sit on a board that develops policy and impacts the culture of American football is an awesome opportunity and I am very honored,” Fredenburg said.