Pages Navigation Menu
Yellow pips

Newspaper, yearbook staffs take top awards at journalism conference

Newspaper, yearbook staffs take top awards at journalism conference

The campus newspaper and yearbook staffs won numerous awards at the 103rd Annual Texas Intercollegiate Press Association’s (TIPA) annual conference held in Corpus Christi, March 31.

Yearbook co-editors Krystal Hawk and Anna Jauregui crafted the “Paint Your Own Picture” theme for the 2011 yearbook, which earned the First Place Sweepstakes Award for Overall Yearbook Excellence in Division 2. The staff also won 24 individual awards in categories including opening spread (Anna Jauregui, Mariana Jauregui, Angela Sanchez, Jasmine Knight), student life copy (JC Jones), and organizations copy (Anna Jauregui).

The Bells newspaper won the Sweepstakes Award in its division at TIPA. Additionally, Bells staffers won other awards in the areas of sports news story, sports feature story, editorial writing, headline writing, critical review, sports photography, feature page design, editorial cartoon, opinion page design, special section/edition, website navigation, and Best of Show.

Individual staff members also placed in the TIPA on-site contests in radio news writing (Katelyn Holm), radio sports writing (Brooke Morgan), copy editing (Artie Phillips), TV advertising (Michael Murphy), and print advertising (Brittany Montgomery).

TIPA is the oldest collegiate press association in the nation that recognizes excellence in student media. It has grown into one of the largest and most respected collegiate groups in the country.