Pages Navigation Menu
Yellow pips

National Champions!

Cru football wins national championship:

For the first time in program history, the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor football team became NCAA Division III National Champions on Friday, December 16, following a 10-7 victory over the Wisconsin-Oshkosh Titans in the 2016 Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, held in Salem, Virginia.
The playoff season began for the Cru on November 19 with a 50-28 victory over the Redlands Bulldogs in Crusader Stadium. This win advanced the Cru to the second round of playoffs, where they beat Linfield College 27-10 on November 26 and progressed to the quarterfinals. On December 3, a 38-16 Cru win against Wheaton College secured UMHB’s place in the semifinals against Mount Union in Crusader Stadium. The Cru advanced to the national championship game with a win of 14-12 over defending national champion Mount Union on Saturday, December 10. UMHB closed out the season with a perfect 15-0 record to set new school and Ameri-can Southwest Conference records for single-season victories.
“This win is the culmination of many years put together,” said UMHB head coach, Pete Fredenburg. “Dr. Bawcom had the vision to begin a football program, and his vision has intensified through Dr. O’Rear. All the players and coaches who came before this group have laid the groundwork for this special team to come in and win a national championship. We’ve dreamed of this.”